Breaking News
More () »

San Antonio's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | San Antonio, Texas | KENS5.com

Gov. Abbott issues disaster declaration for Tropical Storm Beta

The declaration covers 29 Texas counties.

AUSTIN, Texas — Texas Governor Greg Abbott on Monday issued a disaster declaration for 29 counties that have been or are expected to be impacted by Tropical Storm Beta. The declaration will pave the way for local officials to get the help they need to respond.

The counties in the disaster declaration are Aransas, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Orange, Refugio, Sabine, San Augustine, San Patricio, Shelby, Travis, Victoria, and Wharton.

"As Tropical Storm Beta approaches the coast, I urge Texans in the path of the storm to remain vigilant and take necessary precautions to keep themselves and their loved ones safe from flooding, storm surge, and other impacts from this severe weather," said Governor Abbott in a news release. "The State of Texas is working closely with local officials on the ground to provide the resources our communities need to respond to Tropical Storm Beta and keep residents safe." 

You can check the latest path of the storm here.

Read Gov. Abbott's full disaster declaration below