UPDATE 10 p.m.: Incumbent George P. Bush declared winner of Texas Land Commissioner Republican primary with 58 percent of the vote.

8:30 p.m. Republican Bexar County District Attorney candidate Tylden Shaeffer is set to face off against Dem. candidate Joe Gonzales in the Nov. general election following incumbent Nico LaHood's concession.

8 p.m.: Two names have jumped to the top and separated from the pack in the Republican Congressional primary for District 21: Chip Roy and William Negley.

Roy was predictable front-runner. The former chief of staff to U.S. Senator Ted Cruz got his old boss to endorse him.

Negley is a veteran and ex-CIA agent who's used the financial backing and support of Red McCombs to blitz the district with ads touting himself as a "terrorist hunter."

If the race comes down to these two, Negley could put himself in position to pull an upset given that' he's got the military chops and big money behind him.

7 p.m.: As expected, Greg Abbott (R) and Ted Cruz (R) have pulled far ahead of the competition in their respective races. As early votes are totaled, Cruz has taken 84% of the votes for US Senator and Abbott has taken 90% of the early votes for Texas Governor with a whopping total of 169,253.


The great state of Texas is the first in the country to hold primary elections on March 6, 2018. KENS 5 will be updating this story with election happenings and live results of all of the Republican races.

Below you will find the results of the prime local and state Republican races, including the fight to oust popular GOP incumbent Greg Abbott and the battle for Texas Land Commissioner, a crucial race that could bring the Bush Dynasty to a halt.

The tallies of the below seven races will be updated in real time. Please refresh your page for the latest election results.