San Antonio City Councilman Ron Nirenberg pulled off an upset Saturday with a solid defeat of Mayor Ivy Taylor in the race for the mayor's office.

Nirenberg, who is giving up his District 8 council seat to run for mayor, defeated Taylor by more than 9,000 votes with 100 percent of precincts counted.

"We trusted in the voters of San Antonio," Nirenberg told reporters at his campaign rally Saturday. "Tonight, the voters got it right."

Taylor struck a conciliatory tone as the results drew grim Saturday.

"It doesn't look like it's going our way. I am at peace," she told supporters at her rally.

Taylor campaigned on a promise to build on the momentum of the past two years, the length of her first full term. Taylor initially became mayor by a vote of the council after former Mayor Julian Castro stepped down to join President Obama's cabinet.

Nirenberg said he was working to "make San Antonio the city you deserve," questioning Taylor's policies and saying the city is mired in gridlock, both physically and politically.

The two faced off in several local debates, each becoming more pointed as the campaigns focused on points where the two disagreed. Recent mailers sent to city residents underscored disagreements as the candidates looked for an edge to put them over the top.

This election also represented a major changing of the guard for the city, as at least three but no more than five of the current 10 council members will return.

In Saturday night's voting:

  • District 1: Incumbent Roberto C. Treviño held off a strong challenge from Michael Montaño.
  • District 2: Challenger William "Cruz" Shaw pulled off an upset of incumbent councilman Alan E. Warrick II.
  • District 6: Greg Brockhouse defeated Melissa Cabello Havrda in the race to succeed Councilman Ray Lopez.
  • District 8: Manny Pelaez, who was second in the original round of voting, came through with a solid win over Cynthia Brehm. The two were competing to take the seat vacated by Nirenberg.
  • District 9: John Courage held off Marco Barros in a battle for the seat held by Councilman Joe Krier.
  • District 10: Clayton Perry defeated Ezra A. Johnson for the seat held by Councilman Mike Gallagher.

In the May 6 election:

  • District 7: Councilman Cris Medina was ousted May 6, as challenger Ana Sandoval scored the upset without needing to go to the June runoff.
  • Districts 3, 4 and 5: The same day, three council members were re-elected: Rebecca Viagran in District 3, Rey Saldaña in District 4 and Shirley Gonzales in District 5.