Breaking News
More () »

Election 2022: Castro, Gonzales, Roy win re-election bids; Casar to represent CD-35

Greg Casar will succeed Lloyd Doggett in representing House District 35, as the latter prepares to vacate his seat.
Credit: KENS 5

SAN ANTONIO — A trio of San Antonio-area congressional candidates staved off competitors to win re-election Tuesday night, while a fourth was victorious in the race for a seat being vacated by a longtime Democrat. 

Find a rundown of those races below, as well as continuing vote totals. 

U.S. House District 20

Democrat Joaquin Castro has won a sixth term as representative of Congressional District 20, according to the Associated Press, after defeating Republican and local business executive Kyle Sinclair. The district encompasses most of west San Antonio along with the communities of Leon Valley and Balcones Heights.

Castro's victory continues a trend for the dark-blue district which has never swung to the other side of the political spectrum. 

Results for Castro and Sinclair are tabulating below as ballots continue to be counted. 

U.S. House District 21

After winning his March primary with ease, Republican Chip Roy defeated Austin native Claudia Zapata in the race to represent Congressional District 21, which still hasn't voted blue for the seat since Bob Krueger in the '70s. Roy maintains a very slim edge in the Bexar County vote as well, with 229 of 302 polling locations reporting.

Roy listed border security and affordable energy policies among his priorities, while Zapata ran on promises to work towards fighting food and health care inaccessibility. Congressional District 21 covers the west side of I-35 between San Antonio and Austin, including Boerne, Fredericksburg, Kerrville and Medina. 

Results for Zapata and Roy will continue tabulating below as ballots continue to be counted. 

U.S. House District 23

Securing a second term, Republican Tony Gonzales defeated Democrat John Lira in the general election. Both men are military veterans, having since gone on to work in community nonprofit and small business administration spaces, respectively. 

Both Gonzales and Lira were able to lock down their respective nominations in the March primaries. 

Congressional District 23 is politically volatile, but had voted for the Republican candidate in five of the last six elections. It continued that recent trend Tuesday. 

The district covers a large swath of south/southwest Texas, stretching from San Antonio towards New Mexico; it includes the communities of Uvalde, Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Fort Stockton. 

Results for Gonzales and Lira are now tabulating below as ballots continue to be counted. 

U.S. House District 35

Democrat Greg Casar is the projected winner of Congressional District 25, according to the Associated Press, putting him on track to succeed Lloyd Doggett as just the second person to represent a district created a decade ago.

Doggett chose to vacate the seat to run in newly created Congressional District 37.

Casar, a former member of Austin City Council, defeated former Corpus Christi Mayor Dan McQueen in the campaign. While no Election Day ballots have been reported, Casar holds a sizeable advantage from the early return and absentee votes. 

Congressional District 35 is constituted of a sliver along I-35, stretching from Austin to San Antonio.

Results for McQueen and Casar are tabulating below as ballots continue to be counted. 


Before You Leave, Check This Out