Fiesta is San Antonio's biggest party, but if you're new to the scene, you shouldn't let that make you feel overwhelmed.

Check out some of these Fiesta "best bets" to keep yourself ahead of the pack and make you feel like a Fiesta pro!

Thursday, April 18

Fiesta Fiesta

HemisFair, 434 S. Alamo St.

3 - 9 p.m.

This is when we get this party started. There will be a pretty big crowd at HemisFair as the mayor, Fiesta royalty and entertainers officially kick off this year's Fiesta! But trust us, there's still plenty of room for you to soak in the first moments of the party, find some medals and enjoy some great food and music!

If you really want to feel Fiesta fever, you should go. It's one of the best Fiesta events of the year!

Other Events Today:

Fiesta Carnival: Alamodome Parking Lot C, 6 - 11 p.m.

Coming Up

BEST BETS for Friday, April 19: Crowning El Rey Feo, Lackland Parade, WEBB Party

BEST BETS for Saturday, April 20: El Rey Fido, UTSA football, Chanclas y Cervezas

BEST BETS for Sunday, April 21: Celebrate the Charreada tradition

BEST BETS for Monday, April 22: Texas Cavaliers River Parade lights up downtown

BEST BETS for Tuesday, April 23: First of four nights of NIOSA; Cornyation laughs it up

BEST BETS for Wednesday, April 24: Fiesta royalty at Coronation; big laughs at Cornyation

BEST BETS for Thursday, April 25: Top bands show Fiesta flourish

BEST BETS for Friday, April 26: Enjoying the Battle of Flowers Parade... and beyond!

BEST BETS for Saturday, April 27: Check out King William Fair and Fiesta Flambeau Parade!

BEST BETS for Sunday, April 28: One last day of Fiesta at the Festival de CascarĂ³nes