'Johnny Football' Manziel wins Davey O'Brien quarterback award

'Johnny Football' Manziel wins Davey O'Brien quarterback award

Credit: Getty Images

COLLEGE STATION, TX - NOVEMBER 24: Johnny Manziel #2 of the Texas A&M Aggies runs upfield during their game against the Missouri Tigers at Kyle Field on November 24, 2012 in College Station, Texas. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)


by Kyle Hightower / Associated Press


Posted on December 7, 2012 at 10:34 AM

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) -- Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel has become the first freshman to win the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

The award was presented Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards show. Manziel beat out fellow finalists Collin Klein of Kansas State and Braxton Miller from Ohio State.

Manziel led the Aggies to a 10-2 record and Cotton Bowl berth.

Manziel passed for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns and posted a Southeastern Conference-record 4,600 yards of total offense on his way to his unanimous selection for Associated Press SEC offensive player of the year.

He is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, given to the player of the year.

Winners of the Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's best quarterback, presented by the College Football Writers Association of America:

National Quarterback Award

2012--Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

2011--Robert Griffin III, Baylor

2010--Cam Newton, Auburn

2009--Colt McCoy, Texas

2008--Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

2007--Tim Tebow, Florida

2006--Troy Smith, Ohio State

2005--Vince Young, Texas

2004--Jason White, Oklahoma

2003--Jason White, Oklahoma

2002--Brad Banks, Iowa

2001--Eric Crouch, Nebraska

2000--Chris Weinke, Florida State

1999--Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech

1998--Michael Bishop, Kansas State

1997--Peyton Manning, Tennessee

1996--Danny Wuerffel, Florida

1995--Danny Wuerffel, Florida

1994--Kerry Collins, Penn State

1993--Charlie Ward, Florida State

1992--Gino Torretta, Miami

1991--Ty Detmer, Brigham Young

1990--Ty Detmer, Brigham Young

1989--Andre Ware, Houston

1988--Troy Aikman, UCLA

1987--Don McPherson, Syracuse

1986--Vinny Testaverde, Miami

1985--Chuck Long, Iowa

1984--Doug Flutie, Boston College

1983--Steve Young, Brigham Young

1982--Todd Blackledge, Penn State

1981--Jim McMahon, Brigham Young

Memorial Trophy

1980--Mike Singletary, LB

1979--Mike Singletary, LB

1978--Billy Sims, Oklahoma, RB

1977--Earl Campbell, Texas RB