UPDATE: (10:45): With 100 percent of precincts reporting, Ana Sandoval has defeated Councilman Cris Medina for the District 7 city council spot. Sandoval avoided a runoff by a slim margin, garnering 51 percent of the vote.

There will also be a runoff in the mayoral race as Mayor Ivy Taylor will square off with Councilman Ron Nirenberg. Mayor Taylor won 42 percent of the vote while Nirenberg had 37 percent. Nirenberg trailed Taylor by about 5,000 votes.

As for city council races, Roberto C. Treviño will face Michael Montaño in District 1 as Treviño fell just short of a majority at 49 percent. Alan E. Warrick will face William "Cruz" Shaw in a District 2 runoff. In District 6, Greg Brockhouse will go up against Melissa Cabello Havrda. Cynthia Brehm and Manny Pelaez will have a runoff in District 8. Marco Barros and John Courage emerged from a crowded race in District 9. And Ezra A. Johnson and Clayton Perry will face off in District 10 after winning nearly identical vote totals.

Apart from Sandoval, the rest of the outright winners on Saturday were Rebecca J. Viagran in District 3, Rey Saldaña in District 4, and Shirley Gonzales in District 5.

Meanwhile, all six bond propositions passed with overwhelming majorities, with only Proposition 6 receiving less than 70 percent of the vote, as it won 68 percent.

For final election results, click here.

UPDATE (9:15 p.m.): As more precincts report into the night, an upset is brewing in the city council race for District 7 as incumbent Cris Medina trails challenger Ana Sandoval. With 7 of 61 precincts reporting, Sandoval leads Medina by 13 percentage points.

All other incumbents are leading their races.

As for the mayoral race, a runoff still appears imminent between Ivy Taylor and Ron Nirenberg as the mayor currently holds 43 percent of the vote, while her strongest challenger has 36 percent. Taylor needs more than 50 percent to avoid a runoff, but that seems unlikely as more votes are counted.

UPDATE (7:35 p.m.): In early election returns, including early voting, Ivy Taylor and Ron Nirenberg are in a tight race so far that could lead to the two facing each other in a runoff as neither looks like they will get the necessary 50 percent of the vote to win outright on election night.

As for the city's bond proposal, all propositions are significantly in favor of passing so far.


On Saturday, voters are deciding on everything from the mayor’s seat to city council races to the city’s largest bond program ever at nearly $1 billion.

According to the Bexar County Elections Office, more than 68,000 people voted early. Add that to the 32,000 people that voted as of 5 p.m. and you’ve got the first ever municipal election in Bexar County history in which more than 100,000 people voted.

In the mayoral race, Ivy Taylor is running against 13 other candidates, but two are expected to pose a significant challenge that could push the mayoral election to a runoff: Bexar County Democratic Party Chairman Manuel Medina and City Councilman Ron Nirenberg.

Among the others listed on the ballot running for mayor are Napoleon Madrid, Keven Roles, Felicio Hernandez Flores II, Michael “Commander” Idrogo, Will McLeod, John Martin Velasquez, Mama Bexar, Stephen Lucke, Rhett Smith, Gerard Xavier Ponce, and Antonio “Tony” Diaz.

All 10 city council positions are up for election as well, with four spots available where no incumbent is running.

In District 1, incumbent Roberto C. Treviño is running against Robert Feria, Adrian Flores, Ross. A Treviño, Lauro A. Bustamante, and Michael Montaño.

In District 2, incumbent Alan E. Warrick, II is running against Dori L. Brown, William “Cruz” Shaw, and Keith A. Toney.

In District 3, incumbent Rebecca J. Viagran is running against Jessica O. Guerrero, Jerome C. Durham, , Nathan Carrizales, Sylvia E. Don, Ismael Reyes, and Ralph E. Gerber.

In District 4, incumbent Rey Saldaña is running against Johnny Arredondo and Rey Guevara.

In District 5, incumbent Shirley Gonzales is running against Cynthia T. Cavazos, David C. Yañez, Dolores Sotomayor, Richard Montez, and Daniel Lopez.

District 6 has no incumbent. Those running for that spot are Greg Brockhouse, Melissa Cabello Havrda, Eric Gosset, Joseph Cortez, Ricardo “Rick” Treviño, Robert Castaneda, Ropal Anderson, and Don Page.

In District 7, incumbent Cris Medina is running against Marco Reyes, Alfredo Esparza Colunga, Ana Sandoval, and Michele Dalbis-Robledo.

District 8 has no incumbent and was Ron Nirenberg’s old seat. Those running for that seat are Manny Pelaez, Shane A. Hinze, Paul Martin, Cynthia Brehm, Pat Stout, and Tony Valdivia.

District 9 also has no incumbent. Those running for that seat are Lynlie Wallace, Adam Goodman, Sandra Martinez-Deyamond, Patty Gibbons, Matt Piña, Marco Barros, Bert T. Cecconi, Patrick Von Dohlen, John Courage, and David “Doc” Cohen.

District 10 has no incumbent. Those running for that seat are Diana Kenny, Clayton Perry, John Alvarez, Celeste Montez-Tidwell, Reinette King, Andrew J. Padilla, Lon Jett IV, Eric Robert Morse, Jonathan Delmer, and Ezra A. Johnson.

Finally are the city’s bonds, which are broken down into six propositions totaling 150 projects representing $850 million in spending.

The largest is proposition 1 and calls for almost half a billion dollars for improvements to streets, bridges, and sidewalks.

Proposition 2 is for 19 projects that cover drainage and flood control improvements. One area needing major help is a section of Broadway Street where $42 million is needed for curbs, sidewalks, lighting, and other improvements. In all, 70 percent of bond funds would go toward streets and drainage. Much is needed for streets since many of them are in bad shape, also because the city maintains more than 4,000 miles of roadway.

Proposition 3 is for parks, recreation, and open space improvements totaling close to $200 million. Brackenridge Park would see close to $8 million for general improvements and rehab.

Proposition 4 covers improvements to libraries and cultural facilities.

Proposition 5 calls for improvements to public safety facilities. And proposition 6 is for neighborhood improvements.